Before the Nazis sent him to a concentration camp, Dresden-born Gregor Haase had already spent several years in prison. He was subsequently held prisoner in various concentration camps for just under two years. We do not know whether he survived the liberation in a sub-camp of the Flossenbürg concentration camp.

Gregor Haase was born in Dresden on June 26, 1893, and lived with his wife Erna in Komotau, now called Chomutov, in the Czech Republic. He was an electrical engineer and was arrested in 1940 on charges of homosexuality and sexual abuse of minors, for which he received a prison sentence.

However, after serving his three-year sentence, he was not released, but was placed in so-called protective custody for an indefinite period of time without having received another conviction. This meant being sent to a concentration camp. The idea was for people whom the National Socialists regarded as their opponents or as inferior human beings to be excluded from German society in this way. The system of categorization applied to the prisoners in the camps was closely linked to this ideology.

 

Komotau today (Copyright: SchiDD)

 

When Gregor was transferred to the Buchenwald concentration camp on June 17, 1943, the “Homosexual Paragraph 175” was deleted from his documents, and he was registered as a sex offender under the prisoner category “career criminal” and given prisoner number 1385. “Career criminal” was a category generally applied to prisoners in concentration camps who had already served long or multiple sentences for prior convictions, regardless of the nature or severity of their crimes. They had to wear a green triangle on their prisoner clothing for identification purposes.

 

A group of prisoners returning to the camp after work. The prisoners walking along Carachoweg (Caracho Way) are carrying stones on their shoulders. The main guardhouse of the concentration camp can be seen in the background. The chimney in the background to the left belongs to the “SS-Unterführer-Bad.” (Copyright: Gedenkstätte Buchenwald)

 

From Buchenwald to Warsaw

Gregor stayed in Buchenwald for only a few weeks. In July 1943, he was put on a transport of 300 prisoners who were being transferred to the Warsaw concentration camp. After the suppression of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, only ruins of the former ghetto remained. The German occupiers were setting up a concentration camp there to enable them to use prisoners from the Auschwitz concentration camp to clear the rubble and salvage usable material. Prisoners from Buchenwald were brought to Warsaw to help the SS build the camp. As prisoner functionaries, these prisoners occupied a position somewhere between the SS and the other prisoners. 

The SS tended to select German prisoners from the ranks of those who were categorized as career criminals to fulfil such roles. Firstly, because they could speak German, and secondly, because as “criminals” they had the reputation of enforcing the SS’s regime of terror over their fellow prisoners with great brutality. However, even they did not have any real freedom of choice, but these prisoners did at least have some room for maneuver. Not only did they have certain privileges and belong to the camp’s elite, but in the Warsaw concentration camp, they also had almost unlimited power over their fellow inmates. How they used or abused that power was entirely up to them. What role Gregory played is unknown.

The Warsaw concentration camp existed for only about a year because the Red Army was already on the other side of the River Vistula by the end of July 1944, and the SS decided to clear the camp. About 4,000 prisoners were sent on a foot march in a westerly direction. Once they reached Kutno, they were sent on in freight cars. 

Documents on Gregor Haase

Gregor was sent from concentration camp to concentration camp. First to Warsaw via Buchenwald, then from Warsaw to Dachau, and then to the Rabstein sub-camp of the the Flossenbürg concentration camp. These two documents from our archives document his imprisonment in the Buchenwald and Dachau concentration camps.

 

Heavy labor in an underground aircraft factory

Gregor and the other survivors of the transport reached the Dachau concentration camp on August 6. Gregor Haase was registered there under prisoner number 90835, but this time as a homosexual. It is no longer possible to say with any certainty what the real reasons behind this categorization were or indeed what the reasons behind his previous categorization in Buchenwald were. But what we can say with absolute certainty is that being registered as a homosexual put the person concerned in a much worse position in the camp’s social hierarchy. Stigmatization played a contributory role here and continues to color the way certain groups of persecutees are seen to this day.

At the end of August, the SS finally transported Gregor Haase to the Rabstein sub-camp of the Flossenbürg concentration camp, where the prisoners were deployed as forced laborers and had to build an underground aircraft factory during the last months of the war. It is unclear whether he was among the prisoners whom the SS simply left behind in a barn when the war ended on May 8, 1945. On foot, the journey back to his hometown of Komotau would have been a little more than 85 kilometers long.

 

The perpetrators’ perspective

We do not know very much about Gregor Haase, and the little we do know is gleaned from documents that were created by the SS and by the Nazi judiciary and primarily reflect the perspective of the perpetrators. Gregor’s story is neither simple nor clear-cut. The background to his conviction is unknown, nor do we have any information about his activities in the Warsaw concentration camp. However, there is no doubt about the personal injustices that were done to him when he was imprisoned without a conviction and deported to various concentration camps.

The media installation aims to draw attention to fates like his so that we can find out more about the real people behind categories like “career criminals,” “criminals,” or “anti-social elements.” 

join in now!

Bevor die Nationalsozialisten Gregor Haase in ein Konzentrationslager einwiesen, hatte der gebürtige Dresdner schon einige Jahre in Haft verbracht. Knapp zwei Jahre war er dann Häftling in verschiedenen Konzentrationslagern. Ob er die Befreiung in einem Außenlager des Konzentrationslagers Flossenbürg überlebte, wissen wir nicht.

Gregor Haase wurde am 26. Juni 1893 in Dresden geboren und lebte mit seiner Frau Erna in Komotau, dem heutigen Chomutov in Tschechien. Der Elektrotechniker war 1940 wegen des Vorwurfs der Homosexualität und des sexuellen Missbrauchs von Minderjährigen verhaftet und zu einer Gefängnisstrafe verurteilt worden.

Nachdem er seine dreijährige Strafe verbüßt hatte, wurde er jedoch nicht entlassen, sondern auf unbestimmte Zeit und ohne Urteil in sogenannte Schutzhaft genommen. Das bedeutete die Einweisung in ein Konzentrationslager. Auf diese Weise sollten Personen, welche die Nationalsozialisten als ihre Gegner oder als minderwertige Menschen betrachteten, aus der deutschen Gesellschaft ausgeschlossen werden. Die Kategorisierung der Häftlinge in den Lagern erfolgte nach dieser Ideologie.

 

Komotau heute (Copyright: SchiDD)

 

Als Gregor am 17. Juni 1943 in das Konzentrationslager Buchenwald überstellt wurde, strich man in seinen Dokumenten allerdings den „Homosexuellenparagraphen 175“ und registrierte ihn als Sexualstraftäter unter der Häftlingskategorie Berufsverbrecher mit der Häftlingsnummer 1385. Als sogenannte Berufsverbrecher wurden allgemein Häftlinge in den Konzentrationslagern geführt, die eine längere oder mehrere Vorstrafen verbüßt hatten. Dabei spielte die Art oder die Schwere der Straftat keine Rolle. Zur Kennzeichnung mussten sie einen grünen Winkel an der Häftlingskleidung tragen.

 

Eine Häftlingskolonne zieht nach der Arbeit wieder ins Lager ein. Die auf dem Carachoweg laufenden Häftlinge schleppen Steine auf ihren Schultern. Im Hintergrund ist die Hauptwache des Konzentrationslagers zu sehen. Der Schornstein links im Hintergrund gehört zum „SS-Unterführer-Bad“. (Copyright: Gedenkstätte Buchenwald)

 

Von Buchenwald nach Warschau

In Buchenwald blieb Gregor nur wenige Wochen. Im Juli 1943 gehörte er zu einem Transport von 300 Häftlingen, die in das KZ Warschau überstellt wurden. Nach der Niederschlagung des Aufstandes im Warschauer Ghetto, standen vom ehemaligen Ghetto nur noch Ruinen. Nun errichteten die deutschen Besatzer dort ein KZ, um mit Häftlingen aus dem KZ Auschwitz den Schutt zu beseitigen und Verwertbares zu bergen. Die Häftlinge aus Buchenwald wurden nach Warschau gebracht, um der SS bei der Errichtung des Lagers zu helfen. Sie übernahmen zugleich als sogenannte Funktionshäftlinge eine Stellung zwischen der SS und den Häftlingen. 

Für solche Aufgaben wählte die SS bevorzugt deutsche Häftlinge der Haftkategorie Berufsverbrecher aus. Einerseits beherrschten diese die deutsche Sprache und hatten anderseits den Ruf als „Kriminelle“, das Terrorregime der SS gegenüber ihren Mithäftlingen brutal durchzusetzen. Eine tatsächliche Wahl hatten aber auch sie nicht, jedoch verfügten diese Häftlinge über einen gewissen Handlungsspielraum: Sie hatten nicht nur Privilegien und standen an der Spitze der Lagergesellschaft, sondern erhielten im Konzentrationslager Warschau beinahe uneingeschränkte Macht über ihre Mithäftlinge. Wie sie diese nutzten oder missbrauchten, lag durchaus in ihrer Hand. Welche Rolle Gregor dabei einnahm, ist nicht überliefert.

Das KZ Warschau existierte nur etwa ein Jahr lang, weil Ende Juli 1944 die Rote Armee bereits auf der anderen Seite der Weichsel stand und die SS sich zur Räumung entschloss. Etwa 4.000 Häftlinge wurden auf einen Fußmarsch in Richtung Westen geschickt und ab Kutno in Güterwaggons weitertransportiert. 

Dokumente zu Gregor Haase

Die Nationalsozialisten schickten Gregor von Konzentrationslager zu Konzentrationslager. Über Buchenwald nach Warschau, von dort nach Dachau und danach ins Außenlager Rabstein des KZ Flossenbürg. Diese beiden Dokumente aus unserem Archiv belegen die Inhaftierungen in den Konzentrationslagern Buchenwald und Dachau.

 

Schwerstarbeit für ein unterirdisches Flugzeugwerk

Gregor und die anderen Überlebenden des Transports erreichten am 6. August das KZ Dachau. Hier wurde Gregor Haase unter der Häftlingsnummer 90835 registriert, diesmal aber als Homosexueller. Welche konkreten Gründe hinter dieser Kategorisierung oder der vorherigen in Buchenwald steckten, können wir heute nicht mehr rekonstruieren. Fest steht, dass eine Registrierung als Homosexueller für den Betroffenen eine deutlich schlechtere Stellung innerhalb der Häftlingsgesellschaft bedeutete. Hierbei spielte auch Stigmatisierung eine Rolle, die bis heute die Sicht auf bestimmte Verfolgtengruppen prägt.

Ende August transportierte die SS Gregor Haase schließlich in das Außenlager Rabstein des Konzentrationslagers Flossenbürg. Hier wurden die Häftlinge zur Zwangsarbeit eingesetzt, um noch in den letzten Kriegsmonaten ein unterirdisches Flugzeugwerk zu bauen. Ob er unter den Häftlingen war, die die SS nach dem Kriegsende am 8. Mai 1945 einfach in einer Scheune zurückließ, ist unklar. Bis in seinen Heimatort Komotau wären es von dort etwas mehr 85 Kilometer Fußmarsch gewesen.

 

Perspektive der Täter

Wir wissen wenig über Gregor Haase und das, was wir aus den Dokumenten der SS und NS-Justiz erfahren, gibt zunächst vor allem die Perspektive der Täter wider. Die Geschichte von Gregor ist keine einfache oder eindeutige. Es fehlen die Hintergründe zu seiner Verurteilung ebenso wie Informationen zu seiner Tätigkeit im KZ Warschau. Unzweifelhaft bleibt aber, dass seine Inhaftierung ohne Urteil und die Verschleppung in verschiedene Konzentrationslager Unrecht an seiner Person waren.

Mit der Medieninstallation wollen wir auch auf solche Schicksale aufmerksam machen, um über die Menschen, die hinter Kategorien wie „Berufsverbrecher“, „Kriminelle“ oder „Asoziale“ stecken, mehr zu erfahren. 

jetzt mitmachen!