The Feldmann family from Oradea in Romania was torn apart forever by the Holocaust. It was not until the war had ended that Jakob Feldmann and two of his siblings were reunited and learned the sad news about the fate of their father. His mother, his grandparents, and two other siblings were also murdered.

Jakob Feldmann was born on August 23, 1927, in Oradea, known as Großwardein in German. He and his five siblings grew up there in a Jewish family. In those days, about a quarter of the city’s population were Jews. His father, David Feldmann, was a merchant. When the territory surrounding this city in northwestern Romania fell to Hungary in the summer of 1940 under pressure from the German and Italian governments, antisemitic policies also began to affect the family of 13-year-old Jakob Feldmann. In Hungary, increasing numbers of anti-Jewish laws based on the Nuremberg Race Laws had been passed since 1938. However, the Hungarian government refused to hand over the Jewish inhabitants to the Germans at first.

The synagogue of Oradea, the hometown of the Feldmann family.
© Yad Vashem 

But this all changed when Hungary was occupied by the German Wehrmacht in March 1944, and the situation worsened once more. On May 5, the Feldmann family had to move to the Oradea ghetto, which was the second largest ghetto in Hungary and terribly overcrowded. About 15 people had to share a small room. The deportations began just a few weeks later. With the support of the Hungarian authorities, the German occupying forces deported over 430,000 Jews to the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration and extermination camp between May and July 1944. The SS murdered most of them in the gas chambers immediately on arrival.

The family is torn apart

Between May 23 and June 27, 1944, the Jews from the Oradea ghetto, about 35,000 people, were also deported to Auschwitz-Birkenau. The ghetto was divided into sectors for this purpose, so that transports of 2,500 to 3,200 people could be organized for each one. Jakob Feldmann’s family probably lived together with his grandparents in very cramped conditions in the ghetto, so that the entire family was sent on one and the same transport. Jakob’s elder brother Shmuel was not with the family at the time. When the transport reached Birkenau , the SS subjected the new arrivals to a selection procedure on the unloading ramp. Men and women were separated. Elderly people, mothers with children, and people who were sick or weak were sent directly to their deaths. Only a few were picked out as so-called depot prisoners to work in the armaments industry as forced laborers to support Hitler’s war effort.

 

Jewish men after the selection procedure in Auschwitz-Birkenau. © Yad Vashem

The selection procedure in Auschwitz tore the family apart forever. Documents in the Arolsen Archives contain the following information: Magda Feldmann, Jakob’s sister, was sent to the Riga Kaiserwald concentration camp for forced labor. Jakob and his father David were registered in Dachau concentration camp on June 18, 1944, before they were transferred to the Munich-Allach sub-camp, camp Karlsfeld, as slave workers. Together with thousands of prisoners and forced laborers, they were put to work there building aircraft engines for BMW.

The names of his mother Fani and his grandparents Moses and Reise and the names of his other siblings are not mentioned in the documents. It is very probable that they were very murdered in the gas chambers immediately on arrival or that they died as a result of the terrible conditions in the camp.

The multi-media installation commemorates the fate of Jakob Feldmann and his family as part of our #everynamecounts campaign to ensure that no victim is forgotten.

In February 1945, father and son were sent to the Mühldorf forest camp, where the prisoners had to live in earthen huts. This is where Jakob was finally separated from his father. The SS put David on a death train along with 4,000 other completely debilitated prisoners. The odyssey through Bavaria lasted five days. On April 20, 1945, the U.S. Army found the freight train full of corpses and half-starved prisoners in Seeshaupt and tried to save the survivors. For David Feldmann, the rescue came too late: he died a few days after the liberation and was buried on the Seeshaupt lido.

Jakob, meanwhile, was no longer in Mühldorf, but had been taken back to the main camp in Dachau. He was there on April 29, when US troops liberated the camp. Weakened and visibly marked by his imprisonment, the 17-year old was initially cared for in Dachau before being transferred to the hospital run by the International Refugee Organization in St Ottilien. From there, he was sent on to the Displaced Persons camp in Feldafing.

 

This list shows Jakob Feldmann as one of the Romanian Jews, who were liberated from Dachau conctentration camp.

 

The family’s reunion

His sister Magda, who had been held in the Riga Kaiserwald and Stutthof camps and the Leipzig-Schönau sub-camp of Buchenwald, had also survived and returned to Oradea. Jakob went back there too in search of members of his family. Jakob’s brother Shmuel had also survived. He emigrated to Israel, followed by his sister Magda some time later. In 1946, the siblings submitted an inquiry to the Allied tracing offices in an effort to find out about their father’s fate. But it was not until November 1950 that the ITS (now Arolsen Archives) was able to provide them with information about the circumstances of his death.

join in now!

Der Holocaust trennte die Familie Feldmann aus Oradea in Rumänien für immer. Erst nach Kriegsende fanden Jakob Feldmann und zwei seiner Geschwister wieder zueinander und erhielten traurige Gewissheit über das Schicksal ihres Vaters. Auch seine Mutter, Großeltern und zwei weitere Geschwister wurden ermordet.

Jakob Feldmann wurde am 23. August 1927 in Oradea, zu Deutsch Großwardein, geboren. Gemeinsam mit seinen fünf Geschwistern wuchs er dort in einer jüdischen Familie auf. Etwa ein Viertel der Stadtbevölkerung waren Juden. Sein Vater, David Feldmann, arbeitete als Kaufmann. Als das Gebiet um die Großstadt im Nordwesten Rumäniens auf Druck der deutschen und italienischen Regierung im Sommer 1940 an Ungarn fiel, traf die antisemitische Politik auch die Familie des 13-Jährigen Jakob Feldmann. In Ungarn gab es seit 1938 eine Zunahme antijüdischer Gesetze, die sich an den Nürnberger Rassegesetzen orientierten. Allerdings weigerte sich die ungarische Regierung zunächst, die jüdischen Einwohner an die Deutschen auszuliefern.

Die Synagoge von Oradea, dem Heimatort der Familie Feldmann.
© Yad Vashem 

Mit der Besetzung Ungarns durch die deutsche Wehrmacht im März 1944 änderte sich dies und die Situation verschlimmerte sich abermals. Familie Feldmann musste am 5. Mai ins Ghetto von Oradea übersiedeln, welches als zweitgrößtes Ghetto Ungarns völlig überfüllt war. Etwa 15 Personen mussten sich ein kleines Zimmer teilen. Bereits wenige Wochen später begannen die Deportationen: Von Mai bis Juli 1944 deportierten die deutschen Besatzer mit Unterstützung der ungarischen Behörden über 430.000 Juden und Jüdinnen in das Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslager Auschwitz-Birkenau. Die SS ermordete die Mehrheit von ihnen unmittelbar nach der Ankunft in den Gaskammern.

Die Familie wird zerrissen

Zwischen dem 23. Mai und dem 27. Juni 1944 wurden auch die etwa 35.000 Juden und Jüdinnen aus dem Ghetto in Oradea nach Auschwitz-Birkenau deportiert. Das Ghetto wurde dazu in Sektoren eingeteilt, sodass jeweils Transporte mit 2.500 bis 3.200 Menschen zusammengestellt wurden. Vermutlich lebte die Familie von Jakob Feldmann gemeinsam mit seinen Großeltern auf engstem Raum im Ghetto zusammen, sodass die gesamte Familie auf ein und denselben Transport geschickt wurde. Jakobs älterer Bruder Schmuel befand sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht bei der Familie. Nach der Ankunft in Birkenau selektierte die SS die Ankommenden auf der Rampe. Männer und Frauen wurden getrennt. Ältere Menschen, Mütter mit Kindern, Kranke und Geschwächte schickte man direkt in den Tod. Nur wenige wurden als sogenannte Depothäftlinge aussortiert, denn sie sollten für die Rüstungsindustrie als Zwangsarbeiter*innen für Hitlers Krieg arbeiten.

Jüdische Männer nach der Selektion in Auschwitz-Birkenau. © Yad Vashem

Durch die Selektion in Auschwitz wurde die Familie endgültig auseinandergerissen. In den Dokumenten der Arolsen Archives finden sich folgende Informationen: Magda Feldmann, Jakobs Schwester, kam zur Zwangsarbeit ins KZ Riga Kaiserwald. Jakob und sein Vater David wurden am 18. Juni 1944 im KZ Dachau registriert. Als Arbeitssklaven überstellte man sie in das Außenlager München-Allach, Lager Karlsfeld. Dort mussten sie für BMW gemeinsam mit tausenden Gefangenen und Zwangsarbeiter*innen Flugmotoren bauen.

Die Namen von Mutter Fani und den Großeltern Moses und Reise sowie der anderen Geschwister finden sich nicht in den Dokumenten. Höchstwahrscheinlich wurden sie unmittelbar nach der Ankunft in den Gaskammern ermordet oder starben an den schrecklichen Bedingungen im Lager.

In der Medieninstallation erinnern wir an das Schicksal von Jakob Feldmann und seiner Familie und setzen uns mit #everynamecounts dafür ein, dass kein Opfer vergessen wird.

Im Februar 1945 kamen Vater und Sohn ins Waldlager Mühldorf, wo die Häftlinge in Erdhütten hausen mussten. Hier wurde Jakob von seinem Vater getrennt: Die SS schickte David mit 4.000 anderen völlig entkräfteten Häftlingen auf einen Todeszug. Fünf Tage dauerte die Irrfahrt durch Bayern. Am 20. April 1945 fand die US-Armee den Güterzug voller Leichen und halbverhungerter Häftlinge in Seeshaupt und versuchte die Überlebenden zu versorgen. Für David Feldmann kam die Rettung zu spät: er starb wenige Tage nach der Befreiung und wurde im Strandbad Seeshaupt bestattet.

Jakob war indes aus Mühldorf zurück ins Hauptlager nach Dachau gebracht worden. Am 29. April erlebte er die Befreiung des Lagers durch US-Truppen. Von der Haft gezeichnet und entkräftet, versorgte man den 17-Jährigen zunächst in Dachau und dann im Hospital der IRO (International Refugee Organization) in St. Ottilien, bevor er in das Lager für Displaced Persons nach Feldafing kam.

 

Diese Liste zeigt Jakob Feldmans Namen als einer der rumänischen Juden, die aus dem KZ Dachau befreit wurden.

 

Zusammenführung der Familie

Auch seine Schwester Magda hatte die Lager Riga Kaiserwald, Stutthof und das Buchenwalder Außenlager Leipzig Schönau überlebt und war nach Großwardein zurückgekehrt, wohin auch Jakob auf der Suche nach Familienmitgliedern zurückkehrte. Jakobs Bruder Schmuel hatte ebenfalls überlebt und wanderte nach Israel aus, wohin ihm seine Schwester Magda später folgt. Über eine Anfrage bei den alliierten Suchbüros im Jahr 1946 versuchten die Geschwister Gewissheit über das Schicksal des Vaters zu erhalten. Aber erst im November 1950 konnte der ITS (heute Arolsen Archives) die Information über dessen Todesumstände übermitteln.

jetzt mitmachen!