Use our digital introduction to get started

We now provide a digital introduction to #everynamecounts. In just 15 minutes, you can find out about Nazi persecution and learn how important the documents in the archive are today. You can also try out data acquisition (“indexing”) for yourself. The introduction is available in English, German, Polish, French, and Spanish.

The introduction

Discover the Arolsen Archives

The Arolsen Archives have a wide range of other interesting projects in addition to #everynamecounts: exhibitions, educational materials, and a wealth of background information on Nazi history. Visit our website and find out more about the Arolsen Archives.

Find out more

Visit our online archive

Through #everynamecounts, we want to enable people all over the world to access our online archive. You can already search there for the names of some of the victims of Nazi persecution. Have a look and see which names you can already find thanks to the tireless work of our staff and volunteers.

Online archive
Behind the Scenes
Behind the Scenes

It’s a long road with many steps before we can make the millions of documents in our archive available online. In this “Behind the Scenes” Special, we show you what stages the digitized documents go through before they reach the online archive. 

Find out more
New Campaign: Local Remembrance
New Campaign: Local Remembrance

#everynamecounts – everywhere. This is the motto of a campaign focusing on “Local Remembrance” which the Arolsen Archives are launching on May 8 to mark the anniversary of the end of the Second World War. This campaign aims to increase the visibility of small memorial sites and initiatives and to give them a voice to promote the valuable and important work they do.

Learn more about the campaign
The people behind the names
The people behind the names

The multi-media installation for #everynamecounts commemorates the victims of Nazi persecution and projects their names into the public consciousness. Behind every name is a face, a person, a story – a life. We would like to share some of these stories with you, and join with you in remembering that there is a person behind every name.

Find out more about their fates

#everynamecounts: milestones so far

(as of August 2021)

20,879 registered volunteers
4.5 million document transcriptions*
162,438 messages on our crowdsourcing portal
*The data from each document has to be transcribed three times. Some documents appear in more than one document package.
join in now!

Startet mit unserer digitalen Einführung

Zu #everynamecounts gibt es eine digitale Einführung: In 15 Minuten erhaltet ihr darin Informationen zur NS-Verfolgung und der heutigen Bedeutung der Archivdokumente. Zudem könnt ihr die Datenerfassung („Indizierung“) erproben. Die Einführung steht in englischer, deutscher, polnischer, französischer und spanischer Sprache zur Verfügung.

Zur Einführung

Entdeckt die Arolsen Archives

Neben #everynamecounts bieten die Arolsen Archives noch weitere interessante Projekte an: Ausstellungen, Bildungsangebote und viele Hintergrundinformationen zur NS-Geschichte. Besucht unsere Website und erfahrt mehr über die Arolsen Archives.

Mehr erfahren

Besucht unser Online-Archiv

Durch #everynamecounts möchten wir weltweit den Zugang zu unserem Online-Archiv ermöglichen. Ihr könnt dort bereits jetzt nach einigen Namen von Opfern der NS-Verfolgung suchen. Schaut nach, welche Namen unsere Mitarbeiter*innen und Freiwilligen schon auffindbar gemacht haben.

Zum Online-Archiv
Erinnern vor Ort
Erinnern vor Ort

#everynamecounts – jeder Name zählt und das überall. Unter diesem Motto starten die Arolsen Archives am 8. Mai, dem Tag der Befreiung, eine Aktion zum Schwerpunkt „Erinnern vor Ort“. Mit dieser Initiative möchten die Arolsen Archives kleine Erinnerungsorte und -initiativen sichtbar machen und ihnen eine Stimme für ihre wertvolle und wichtige Arbeit leihen.

Mehr über die Initiative erfahren
Die Menschen hinter den Namen
Die Menschen hinter den Namen

Die Medieninstallation zu #everynamecounts erinnert an die Opfer nationalsozialistischer Verfolgung und projiziert ihre Namen in die Öffentlichkeit. Hinter jedem Namen verbirgt sich ein Gesicht, eine Person, eine Geschichte – ein Leben. Wir möchten einige dieser Geschichten erzählen und uns erinnern, dass hinter jedem Namen ein Mensch steht. 

Mehr über die Biografien erfahren

Die Erfolge von #everynamecounts bisher

(Stand April 2021)

18.837 Registrierte Freiwillige
3,6 Millionen erfasste Dokumente
118.552 Nachrichten auf unserem Crowdsourcing Portal
jetzt mitmachen!